The horror of school

School was a nightmare for me, what I do remember is rarely pleasant.

Primary school wasn’t too bad. There were 3 of us who were so small that our uniforms had to be made for us.

To this day I am still friendly with some of the class in person, not only on Facebook. From pictures I have seen I was a mascot for sports day, because I was the smallest in the house I belonged to.

We learned to spell phonetically, which caused many problems when I got to grade 3 and had to suddenly read and spell normally. In grade 7, I was finally diagnosed with a learning difficulty. The music teacher apparently had some background in learning difficulties and told my parents that I was dyslexic.

I found out when my son was around 5 and I attended a talk by a well known child therapist and discovered that it is unlikely I was dyslexic but probably suffered from ADD.

High school was torture! There were 200 pupils in my grade. It was a very strict school which was fine, as I grew up in a strict home. My father was a fair but stern disciplinarian.

The few thing I remember fondly about high school was being in the drama productions, back stage (I am an introvert by nature).

I remember Dale Carnegie became well know at the time and everything was about being out there and being noticed. My worst nightmare.

I was on the swim team and I kept score for the cricket team. Girls were not allowed to play cricket but we had a great coach and I would practice with the team. I followed our under 14 A team all the way till they became the first cricket team. I went to all matches as the team scorer and received training in how to keep score with colours.

Physical education was hell on earth, especially during winter. I am not a runner but had to participate in cross country, I don’t like netball but had to play, I especially didn’t like hockey but it was compulsory!

Over the years I have discovered that at some stage I was originally left handed, somewhere along the line I changed over to right handed. This may explain why I suck at ball sports.

All through primary school until I was 15 I did ballet, then at 16 I changed to figure skating, which I continued well into my college years.

One of the things I do remember and regret not being able to do for my children, is that my mother was always around for us. She was at every sports event and on the PTA and worked in the tuckshop for both my brother and me.

I have had to work full time since my second child was born and I not only regret the years I have missed, I am resentful too.

My children have also not had an easy time at school, dealing with bullies and nasty teachers but that’s for a different post!


A new home

I lived in our suburban home until I went away to college. My parents lived their for 45 years. They moved to a retirement village in 2012.

Not our real home, free image

We loved our home, when my parents sold we were all saddened. The house was an award winning architectural master piece for the 60’s.

The home was and average home for the area. It was 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge, dinning room and kitchen. My father converted the garage into his home office.

There was plenty of space for us to ride our bikes, the garden to play in and the enormous pool to swim in.

I had friend who lived within walking distance. The convenience store was down the street. I cannot remember if it was always a 24 hour convenience store or if that came later.

It was nothing to walk to the local store to buy sweets with my friends.

My brother and his best friend built a small house in a stand of trees on the property that stood until we were all adults.

I left from the front door on my wedding day and my children had every birthday there until my parents moved.

That house ruined me for all others, for although I like the home we live in now, I still find it very dark.

I still miss that house.

Life begins


Life began in 1967 when my parents *Emmanuel and *Ellen had me. We lived in an apartment in Johannesburg.

I remember my mother telling me that they weren’t sure if they had the money to bring me home from the maternity hospital and that my first bed was a dresser drawer. I then moved to a crib when they could afford one.

I was two when my brother *Martin was born. We had by then apparently moved to a larger apartment and my parents had also taken in a young teenage girl to foster her. (I am not sure how long she lived with us or why), I only know her name because my mother has spoken of her.

My bed was a blue lounger, which has been recovered since and is now in my sitting room.

Blue chaise
Image taken from Amazon

Around the time I was 5 my parents moved us to a house in the northern suburbs. It had a lot of windows, wooden ceilings, a large front yard and a pool in the back.

I was in nursery school in the area. The school is today still running and includes a primary school.

There is not too much to write about this as I don’t remember any of it, although we have plenty of pictures.

*Due to the nature of this blog and my alternate life all names of family and friends have been changed. Some of my pictures are from stock images. I credit all photograph and images to the photographer whose images I use in my blog.

The first 50 years or so


I was born 51 years ago.  I have been married for 27 years. I have been a nurse for 30 years. I am the mom of 5 children, 1 boy and 4 girls ranging in age from 13 to 22. We have 2 cats and 2 small dogs.

I consider myself to have lived a relatively privileged life. My parents while never very wealthy were comfortable. As is common in South Africa we had a domestic worker growing up. I employ 1 full time domestic and 1 part-time.

I have 1 sibling. My father passed away 2 years ago my mother is still going strong.

My timeline is boring as I have no real memories of growing up. I will be blogging about each step in my timeline:

Born in 1967, in Johannesburg to my parents. We lived in an apartment in Berea, Johannesburg.

1969 my brother was born.

1972 we moved to a house and my parents lived there for 45 years.

I started primary school in 1973 and moved on to high school in 1980.

I began University in 1986, I will not state where or what I studied as this is my anonymous blog and I am relatively well known. I studied in the medical field.

I got married in 1991, he is not the love of my life and I have never been in love. I married my husband because he didn’t annoy me! I am not a romantic person. I dated frequently while at varsity.

I was too young to have married. I settled at the age of 24 for a nice, kind, undemanding soul. I think I did us both a disservice.

He is also in a medical type profession. We lived a charmed life, where money was no object until 1998 when the business my husband was buying into went into liquidation.

We struggled with infertility. We eventually had 4 children and foster a 4th. I had 2 miscarriages after child number 4.

I worked in a busy GP practice, a staff clinic for a large company, a occupational health clinic, as a volunteer medic, in a busy Emergency Department and for a specialist practice.

I am a lifestyle blog with a specific niche, I will not be sharing that blog here.

I believe that life is what you make of it and I am just coasting. I know there are others out there in the same situation.

We are financially strained and struggle each day to survive.

I am sure that I will offend some people, entertain some people. Educate and enlighten.

Hopefully a little of everything. I hope you find this a place of honesty and help.

Any advice I give is my own and should always be followed up by a professional. All opinions are my own and do not represent any nationality, race or religion. I do not tolerate bigotry, racial hatred and intolerance or religious persecution!

I don’t like people in general and I prefer social media over person to person interactions.

*Due to the nature of this blog and my alternate life all names of family and friends have been changed. Some of my pictures are from stock images. I credit all photograph and images to the photographer whose images I use in my blog.